The National Radioactive Waste Disposal Institute (NRWDI) welcomed the appointment of their new board of directors by the Minister of Minerals, Resources and Energy, the Honourable Gwede Mantashe on 18 August 2023.

The Minister formally appointed the following individuals to the NRWDI Board: Ms Lemao Dorah Modise as Chairperson, Dr Wolsey Barnard as Deputy Chairperson. Ms Gratitude Ramphaka and Advocate Derick Block are newly appointed Non-Executive Members of the Board. In addition to the above appointments, Dr Kgaugelo Chiloane was also re-appointed to the NRWDI Board.

All Board members are appointed for a 3-year period, terminating on 17 August 2026 with effect from 18 August 2023. Chief Executive Officer of NRWDI, Dr Margaret Mkhosi said “the NRWDI team is pleased to welcome our new Board of Directors. The new members combined have a wealth of experience and bring a fresh set of skills that not only span the energy/nuclear sector but a critical mix of experience in strategic administrative public sector and private sector experience.”

The aforementioned independent Board members join a number of Departmental representatives on the NRWDI Board, namely, Ms Mamogala Musekene (DFFE representative), Mr Obed Baloyi (alternate DFFE representative), Ms Aneliswa Cele (DoH representative), Ms Tovhowani Nyamande (DWS representative) and Dr Jabulani Maluleke (alternate DWS representative). Mr Thabiso Pie is appointed the main DMRE representative, and Mr Zukile Zibi as the alternate DMRE representative.

Ms Dorah Modise,the new Board Chairperson of the NRWDI Board, said, “I am excited to be appointed as the Chairperson of the NRWDI and believe I can speak on behalf of the Board that we share the same intent to nurture the growth of the institute to its full potential.  It is my firm belief that the combination of the new independent Board members together with the Departmental representatives will give NRWDI the impetus to carry out its mandate of disposing of radioactive waste in a manner that is safe and protects both the citizens of our country and the environment.”


Issued by: Susan Monyai

Email: [email protected]

Communications & Stakeholder Relations Manager

National Radioactive Waste Disposal Institute (NRWDI)